Kerala announces State Tourism Awards for 2012-13


Trivandrum: The Kerala State Tourism Awards for 2012-13 were announced by the Minister for Tourism, Shri A P Anil Kumar. A total of 23 awards have been announced in three separate categories. The winners were chosen by a high level committee chaired by the Tourism Secretary from a preliminary list prepared by a panel of experts constituted by the Tourism Department.

Kochi based Lotus Destination has been named the Best Inbound Tour Operator for 2012-13 and Riya Holidays, also based in Kochi, the Best Outbound Tour Operator.

Vivanta by Taj, Malabar in Kochi won the award for the Best 5-star Deluxe Hotel; Kumarakom Lake Resort in Kottayam won for the Best 5-star Hotel; Udaya Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel in Kovalam was named the Best 4-star Hotel; Marari Beach Resort in Alappuzha the Best 3-star Hotel and Coconut Lagoon in Kumarakom the Best Heritage Hotel.

The award for the Best Ayurveda Centre went to the Somatheeram Ayurveda Beach Resort in Kovalam and the award for the best Homestay to Thiruvananthapuram-based Graceful Homestay. Alappuzha Rainbow Cruise was named the Best Houseboat Operator.

The Best Hotel Manager award went to P Subramanian of Alappuzha Marari Beach. Dr. K C Krishnakumar, Chief Sub-Editor at Mathrubhumi (Yathra, Kozhikode) won the award for the Best Tourism Reporting and B Muralikrishnan, Mathrubhumi Chief News Photographer and Ajosh Parakkan won for the Best Tourism Photography. The ‘Naalumanikkattu’ project initiated by the Kottayam M E B Residents Association and the Tropical Institute of Ecological Sciences has been named the Most Innovative Project in the Tourism Sector.

Trivandrum-based Somatheeram Ayurveda Group also won the award for the Best Use of IT in Tourism Sector.

Other awards announced today are: Best Tourism Police – Sathyan, ASI, Kannur Edakkad Police Station and Sanal Kumar, ASI, Kochi Tourism Police; Best Tourism Guide – N R Ajay Kumar of Thalassery and Subair Elamkulathu of Kalpetta; Best Tourism Student Coordinator – Unnimaya Muraleedharan of Aluva St. Xaviers Women’s College; Best Teacher Coordinator – K G Ashok Kumar of Kottarakkara Tamarakudi Sivavilasom Higher Secondary School; Best Tourism Club – Aluva St Xaviers Women’s College; Best Lifeguard – Charlson of Kannur; Best Tourism Hotel Management Institute – Oriental School of Hotel Management, Lakkidi, Wayanad; and Best Tourism Destination – Wonderla, Kochi.

Kerala Biz News


Comments are closed.