India to chair Association of Natural Rubber Producing Countries


Kottayam: India has been unanimously elected as Chairman of the Association of Natural Rubber Producing Countries (ANRPC). Representing Government of India, A Ajith Kumar IAS, Chairman of Kottayam based Rubber Board under the Ministry of Commerce & Industry, took charge from Royal Government of Cambodia in the 39th Assembly Session of ANRPC held at Guwahati today.

The tenure of Chairmanship will be for one year. The Vice-Chairmanship is for Vietnam.

ANRPC is an intergovernmental organization established in 1970 and has at present 11 member countries viz., Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam. These 11 countries together account for around 90% of world Natural Rubber (NR) production and 65% of world NR consumption. The Association has been an effective forum for facilitating exchange of information, consolidation of statistics, networking and coordinated initiatives on issues confronting the NR sector.

The ANRPC annual meetings 2016 were hosted by the Government of India at Guwahati, Assam from 17 to 21 October. The next annual meetings of ANRPC will be held in Vietnam in 2017.

Kerala Biz News


Comments are closed.