Five young Kerala entrepreneurs make it to SVSquare trip


Kochi: Five student entrepreneurs who are incubating their companies at Startup Village in Kochi will fly to Silicon Valley in California for a first-hand experience of the cradle of global technology revolution, courtesy the Government of Kerala.

Arvind Sanjeev, Jibin Jose, Vijith Padmanabhan, Akash Mathew and Nithin George Charuvila, all aged 22, are the first winners of the annual SVSquare (Startup Village to Silicon Valley) project which was officially rolled out by Startup Village on January 30, 2013, offering an all-expenses paid trip to the Silicon Valley to five of the brightest student entrepreneurs at its facility.

The objective of the initiative is to provide the youngsters exposure to the renowned entrepreneurial culture of the Silicon Valley and eventually enable them to replicate the successes back home.

The five winners, announced by Chief Minister Shri Oommen Chandy last week, were selected from nearly 1,270 applicants. They are expected to travel to Silicon Valley in the first half of November and stay for around two weeks.

The first half of the programme consists of site visits to some of the world’s foremost technology product companies such as Google to experience their work culture and function. The young men will also get to meet and talk to iconic tech entrepreneurs.

During the second week, they will get one-to-one time with at least five select mentors in their field of activity – including venture capitalists and entrepreneurs who, like them, started off very young – to help them take their companies global. The five will also be able to take part in activities of their interest and weekend events that take place regularly in the Silicon Valley.

Akash is the co-founder of CIED Technologies. Arvind is the founder of ARS Devices. Jibin set up the .Retail company and is co-founder of QEdge Code Studios. Vijith co-founded Dolojo Labs. Nithin is the co-founder of QPlay Tech.

As part of the competition, the applicants were required to upload on YouTube a video spanning two to three minutes on their innovative projects / ideas. An eminent jury chaired by Prof. Anil Gupta of IIM-A representing academia and former NASSCOM President, Kiran Karnik, representing the industry, selected the winners.

Kerala IT News